The History of Computers and Technology, Non-Snoozefest Style.

Who wants to learn about IBM, the history of the computer, and other titillating topics?

(Picture From My Computer Tech Blog)

“oOoh! oOoh! Pick me! Pick me!” I can hear you saying it over the internet, how cool is that?

Computers started out as these elephantine machines; these large, sterile, technologies offered zero surprises and were not very interactive.  Later, the typewriter evolved.  The cool thing about typewriters was that they printed out a tape while you typed.  This tape served as a sort of early “memory” feature: supposedly, if you ran an old tape through a type writer, it would print out a copy of the created document.  Think about the potential.  Is this how corporate secrets were leaked out back then?  A naughty man dug through a corporation’s trash until he found top secret typewriter tapes.  Imagine the dirt you could dig up!

By the way, I learned all these nice, new facts from a video I watched: “The Future of the Internet and How to Stop It.” It’s a bit on the longer side, but no matter.  Watch it while you exercise or something.

My favorite of the old-school computers explained in this video is the Brother Smartsword Processor.  It was an 80’s era computer and revolutionary at the time because of the software available for use.  The software was a collection of programs deemed most useful by the Brother company and therefore most needed by consumer computer users.

It’s interesting to look at the icon set-up on the Brother Smartsword Processor.  There are six or eight little pictures all lined up in rows in a grid-like format.  Remind you of anything?

(Image from Life In Motion blog by DWilson.)

Why, yes.  It reminds you of an iPhone.

This Harvard professor goes on to talk about a lot of other things, some interesting, some not.  What amazed me, though, was his ability to captivate attention.  He injects just the right amount of humor into his lecture when he goes off on tangents, yet he always brings it back to his main point.  His bumblebee reference?  Totally random, until he relates it to people doubting the feasability of things.

Plus, who doesn’t like bumblebees?

(Bumblebee picture from Wikimedia Commons.)

Switching gears, let’s talk quickly about the class discussion.  The class brought up examples of exclusivity with the iPhone quite easily.  The iPhone has its little App store where Apple wants you to pay for the privilege of having multiple applications running and eating up battery life.  Same for the iPad.  The iPad has apps, and the iPad also has a battery that must be changed at the Apple store by a Genius.

Really?  You don’t trust your users to change a battery?

If I did have an iPhone, I am sort of intrigued by the idea of getting the Marco Popo app that was talked about in class.  Apparently, the app allows you to drive around, and when you see potential crime or commotion going on, you can put it on the map so people can see where NOT to go.

Pretty damn nice.  All in all, I can’t afford an iPhone, and even if I could, I still wouldn’t buy one.  Why?  Because the touch screen scares me, and I can’t afford, time-wise, to have the world at my fingertips because then my fingertips would do all the work.  And also, I would have no time left for anything else.  I love doing real things with real people, not virtual things with virtual people.

Leave the fancy-shmancy technology aside and do things the human way.

About sunlightsnow

I am working 40 hours and going to school full-time, which means what little life I can lead will be consumed with work, schoolwork, and sleeping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

