Search and Such

So I totally tried to set up a Google Analytics page for my website, and for my blog, and it did not work out for me.  The HTML code I was supposed to plug into the pages would NOT paste, how frustrating is that?

So no Google Analytics for me.  Maybe I will try this again at a later date.

As it is, I checked the stats for this page, and there aren’t many visitors.  Sort of stands to reason.  My blog isn’t word-class cool, so I don’t expect tons of traffic.

Nor do I shamelessly link to myself from other websites.  That brings me to tonight’s topic…

You know how you stumble upon really cool, unique words sometimes?  Well, I learned a really odd one today: “technorati.”

It is a proper noun because it is the name of a search engine.  This search engine searches blogs.  This means once I have more time, I will be able to search and sift through the blogosphere and find musings to my liking.

I also learned about Google Bombs, but that word is not nearly as fun.  Plus, Google Bombs are a shameless, self promoting way to drive traffic to your website.

On that note (shameless self promoting), let’s touch on the idea of paying cash-monies to Google to get a site to the top of the search results page.  This practice is called “sponsored links” and the results are in a closed off, labeled area in the search results.  This is acceptable because these companies freely acknowledge (by virtue of the blue box) that they are paying money for placement.

What is not acceptable?  Buying and building multiple websites, only to put one URL to real use as an informing tool and abusing the other URLs as mirrors to move unsuspecting users back to the initial, single informing tool website.  The number of links between websites is factored in to a website’s relevance and ranking, so to link dummy sites up with a real site is the type of thing that hurts less wealthy entrepreneurs.

“I have the money, so if I can buy more, that’s what I should get to do.”  No.  Sorry.  Squashing out the competition in a forced spending contest in unethical and will reflect poorly on your company when word gets out.  (In the case of dodgy activities, it is always a case of “when” you’ll get caught and how badly you’ll get burned, not “if.”

There’s no limit to the word of mouth, though, so more power to you.

The point is to reach out, the new old-fashioned way.  Commit to spending X amount of time each week reaching out to real and cyber colleagues, commenting on posts, following other people online (via Twitter, not stalking), and generally networking.  In one of my night classes, part of my grade is based on who I reach out to in my career field.  I am graded on my ability to start a dialogue with someone and forge a professional connection.  It requires lots of effort and time, and patience, too.   This is a perfect situation where trite phrases like, “If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen” come in handy.

About sunlightsnow

I am working 40 hours and going to school full-time, which means what little life I can lead will be consumed with work, schoolwork, and sleeping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

