Fish Fry and Webcams

So I made this fabulous video for my website, intending to upload it and let everyone be amazed by my wit and such.  Turns out, uploading video is not part of the “free account” package I signed up for.  I can get the video uploading feature for 6 months for $27.48.  I suppose I shall have to live with that.

I will upload it tomorrow and pay for it then, too.  But in the meantime, I can post my

Banana

recipe on my website for Banana Licuado.  I found it in the newspaper the other day and decided to try it- best choice ever!  It is a wonderfully healthy breakfast shake and helps me use up my milk which I tend to have a lot of.

The recipe, contributed by Leonardo Spencer (owner of El Tizoncito Taqueria), is as follows:

1 small ripe banana

16 ounces milk

2 tablespoons sugar

1 drop of vanilla

Ground cinnamon for garnish

Combine banana, milk, sugar and vanilla in a blender until smooth.  Pour into glasses; sprinkle with cinnamon.  Makes 2 servings.

Super nice and tasty.  I’ve made it a couple times this week and have thoroughly enjoyed it.  The shake-drink is wonderful for waking up in the morning.  All that banana helps fill you up inside so you don’t eat a big bowl of sugar cereal.  And, you get a good healthy serving of milk along with the banana.  I use a little less sugar when I make mine, and I don’t know where my vanilla is (I think it got lost in the move), but the end result was still awesome.

In the meantime, I need to check over my proposal and print it out again.  I meant to do

Webcam!

that today, but I was more excited about napping in between my readings and meeting up with my group to do that.  I will have to upgrade my account so I can start posting the videos.  Initially, I was concerned about the idea of recording myself, especially since I had forgotten about my webcam (that was part of the appeal of my Sony laptop when I purchased it!) and had not replaced the batteries in my camera recently.  Plus, the logistics of recording myself with a digital camera made for shooting and clicking individual shots didn’t bode well for me shooting video.  The only video I usually record is silly moments with my cell phone camera.  I think I have embarrassing video clips of my friend trying to sing Aerosmith songs along to Wii American Idol on my cell phone.

I’m very happy with my webcam now that I used it.  Once I can upgrade, I think I will enjoy making my kitchen goodies, knowing I can record it.

My classmates discussed wikis this week.  I will admit I have always been skeptical of the wiki concept because of the “open edits” concept inherent to the wiki.  Then again, you could always have a wiki like my professor has for his website: it is a wiki, but the only person who has editing privileges is him!  Overall, they seem like a good idea in theory, and I know Wikipedia has taken over the world, so it obviously is doing something right, so perhaps if I open my mind some more, I can learn to love Wikis.

And I debated loading my videos onto YouTube, but I decided not to.  I don’t want this to be too public, so I will embrace premium prices for websites and upload the video there.  It will end up looking great.  The videos are a little rough because I don’t know what I am doing: for example, I kept focusing on what I was doing instead of making eye contact with the camera, and I also walked off screen for a few seconds to wash dishes because I forgot about the webcam.  I need to position myself in the line of the camera’s sight better because otherwise, it won’t work and all people will see is the back of my kitchen.

About sunlightsnow

I am working 40 hours and going to school full-time, which means what little life I can lead will be consumed with work, schoolwork, and sleeping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

