Monkeys at the Keyboard

This week, we are back to our regularly scheduled program, where I discuss our readings from class.  Plus, the readings leave plenty to talk about, so there will be less shortage of topics today.

Not to say I am all well, though.  Four more days of antibiotics.

For Tuesday, we read a portion of Andrew Keen’s The Cult of the Amateur, which discusses the questionable way our current Internet culture is leading us.  Keen constantly refers to the Infinite Monkey Theorem, which goes a little something like this:

“If you provide infinite monkeys with infinite typewriters, some monkey somewhere           will eventually create a masterpiece-a play by Shakespeare, a Platonic dialogue, or an           economic treatise by Adam Smith” (Keen 2).

He goes on to point out who the monkeys are (Internet users) and what the typewriters are (computers, iPads, laptops, etc).  He also makes snide comments about blogs; this makes it slightly awkward for me to blog about his essay since he seems to rail against this exact act, but no matter…

Do I agree with him?  Of course I do.  Logging into WordPress alone gives you a main page with statistics of all the new blog posts, and those numbers can be overwhelming.  Keen says a new blog is made every second of every minute of every hour of every day?  That’s too many for me to comprehend.  There’s a limit to the numbers that I can actually picture in my head and comprehend the magnormity of them (I don’t know if that is a word, but for now, just roll with it and pretend it is).  You would think I could comprehend more numbers since I am one of few people in the area that can tell you exactly what $90,000 looks like in person (very impressive and very clunky).  I think this is where childhood books like How Much is a Million? come into play.  

And when he rails against YouTube, yes, some of it is pointless, but there is a lot of good things on YouTube now, too.  Some of the videos we have viewed for my Digital and Electronic Communications class have been on YouTube.

YouTube has changed since I last used it with any serious time.  It seems you have to log in now to view a lot of things (last I knew, you had to have an account to view the “18 or older” tagged videos and also to leave comments).  I also freely admit that three years ago during the summer, I used YouTube solely so I could watch foolish fan-made videos devoted to the Ray-Neela relationship shown on the TV show ER.  (Let’s not discuss how long I did that for, I might lose credibility and IQ points.)

And yes, “ray neela er” brings up 464 hits on YouTube.  Just in case you were curious.

The same article also addresses the problem of piracy and the financial toll this takes on Hollywood’s profits.  Apparently, “domestic box office sales now represent less than 20 percent of Hollywood’s revenue, and, with the levelling off of DVD sales and the rampant global piracy, the industry is desperately searching for a new business model that will enable it to profitably distribute movies on the Internet” (Keen 8).

Forgive me for saying this, but boo-hoo.  Do you know how expensive it is to go to a movie?  At my local theater, the cheapest ticket at night is $9.00.  Why the hell not wait until a movie is on DVD and then rent it from one of the movie-machines a plenty which have a tendency to live at the Sev and Kroger? (And by Sev, I mean 7-11.  My sister always called 7-11 that, and I always wanted to, so now I have.)  Those machines only charge you a dollar, and sometimes, for the quality of the movie watched, that is more than enough.

(Not that I don’t spend money on entertainment.  When I actually do have some, I like to do to the mega-DVD store down the highway and purchase cheap-ass DVDs.  It is best to go on holidays, the sales are ridiculous…Plus, I am going to the State Fair this weekend, also known as doing your part to support the local economy.)

Pictures today from:

http://www.thereadingnook.com/store-products-0688099335-How-Much-Is-a-Million-20th-Anniversary-Edition-(Reading-Rainbow-Book)_17392671.html

About sunlightsnow

I am working 40 hours and going to school full-time, which means what little life I can lead will be consumed with work, schoolwork, and sleeping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monkeys at the Keyboard

  1. Megan says:

    I love Andrew Keen, I hope you like the read. And this is a great post!

Leave a Reply

